Book Review – HellCorp – #LoveBooksGroupTours

book-review-hellcorp_www.lisasnotebook.com

Who remembers The Rolling Stones track, Sympathy for the Devil?  Although the song was written and released before I was born, the lyrics have always stuck with me.  So imagine how delighted I was to get the opportunity to read HellCorp and see things from the Devil’s perspective!

HellCorp

Blurb: Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime. But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs…

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch. 

HellCorp is available as an eBook and paperback from Amazon UK, Waterstones, and Foyles.

About the author: Jonathan Whitelaw is an author, journalist and broadcaster. After working on the frontline of Scottish politics, he moved into journalism. Subjects he has covered have varied from breaking news, the arts, culture and sport to fashion, music and even radioactive waste – with everything in between. He’s also a regular reviewer and talking head on shows for the BBC and STV. HellCorp is his second novel following his debut, Morbid Relations.

Website: https://urbanepublications.com/authors/jonathan-whitelaw/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JDWhitelaw13
FB Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/JonathanWhitelawAuthor/

book-review-hellcorp_www.lisasnotebook.com

First impressions

I think the Mark Twain quote ahead of Chapter One establishes the tone of the novel (Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company).  It’s set in Glasgow and follows The Devil and his human sidekick, Dr Jill Gideon, as they try to solve a murder that happened 40 years ago although the victim is newly dead.  And there are some nicely comic observations about the Scots too.  “The smell of fatty food and a nice day [and] they’d jump through a ring of fire if they thought they were getting something for free.

The story turns the concept of The Devil on its head and posits that, in his own words, “good and bad aren’t so diametrically opposed.”  I loved Jill, who goes on her own journey to discover who she really is, while helping The Devil crack his case.  And I loved The Devil too: wisecracking, blunt, taking no prisoners, and vocal in his disgust at being forced to take human form on Earth.

Without wanting to give away any spoilers, the novel is ultimately about our perceptions of others.  How getting to know and trust someone can change you.  That things aren’t always black and white, or good and evil.  And that maybe The Devil and God aren’t all that we’ve been led to believe either.

Would I recommend it?

Yes, yes, yes, 100% yes, it’s a brilliantly funny and clever piece of writing.  The concept is great and it’s a very easy and engaging read, which I devoured over the space of three evenings (a record for me!).  The exchanges between The Devil and Him/Her (God) are hilarious and the interplay between The Devil and Jill is by turns funny and touching.  If you’re looking for a comic novel with a touch of supernatural and some crime thrown in, HellCorp is the book for you.

I don’t know if the author is planning HellCorp: The Sequel (I think there may be a teaser at the end of this book?) but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  And one last thought, I think HellCorp would make a brilliant film – I know exactly who I’d cast as The Devil 🙂

Many thanks to Jonathan Whitelaw and Love Books Group Tours for sending over an APC to review.  And don’t forget to check out what my fellow Blog Tour reviewers thought of the book too – see below:

book-review-hellcorp_www.lisasnotebook.com

This post contains affiliate links, which means I receive a small commission at no cost to you if you make any book purchases using this link.  And you can check out my other book reviews here too.

book-review-hellcorp_www.lisasnotebook.com

You may also like

24
Leave a Reply

avatar
12 Comment threads
12 Thread replies
0 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
13 Comment authors
Ms ViaMeredith ChristineabbeylouisaroseEllis WoolleyLydia Recent comment authors
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most voted
Notify of
Abigail
Guest
Abigail

This book sounds really interesting! It’s definitely an intriguing take on a crime novel. I’ve never been one for particularly conventional crime novels but I would definitely be willing to give this book a chance.

Abbie
overpeachchic.com

Megan Harrison
Guest

Great book review! You go into lots of detail which is good but without giving away the plot like some book reviews. I love a crime novel that you can sink your teeth into! Must get back to reading more.

Megan x
https://meganelizabethlifestyle.com/

Bexa
Guest

He he, great review Lisa, I especially I loved the line about the devil being up to his pitchfork in solving murders! It sounds like this book is packed with humour and very clever too. You know it’s a good story when you can finish the book in a few nights too! This is another fantastic review and I’d be very tempted to give this book a read sometime. I think it would definitely make me laugh. Thank you for sharing lovely <3 xx

Bexa | http://www.hellobexa.com

Jasmin
Guest

Oh I’d really enjoy reading this one! Sounds definitely like that!

Aaliyah
Guest

I don’t usually read books like this but this review has made it sound really interesting! Love that you have gone into a lot of detail about the book, I always like to read reviews before I try the book out, Great review x

Galit
Guest

Great book review 🙂

Dominique
Guest

This book sounds fantastic! I always love black humour and darker themes and this sounds like a real good ride! Definitely going to add it to my TBR!

Love,
Dominique

http://www.fashionedbypluche.blogspot.com

Lydia
Guest

Out of interest, is this what Lucifer, the Amazon Prime show, is based on? The plot sounds exactly the same! The show is a little bit tongue in cheek and provocative, but the Devil works with a detective to solve crimes, having taken a holiday… I think you’d like it, based on this review…

Ellis Woolley
Guest

This sounds like quite a funny book despite being about the Devil and what a fantastic storyline! Makes sense really that he fancies a holiday! Thankyou for sharing it with us Lisa! 🙂 x
Ellis // http://www.elliswoolley.co.uk

abbeylouisarose
Guest

I *need* to read this book! Very often when I pick up books that are billed as humorous, they are a bit of a let down and I never find myself laughing along. However, I already chuckled at the few quotes that you included in this post, so I’m confident that this book would buck the trend! I love the concept of the devil taking a holiday, I’m intrigued by the idea that you’d probably end up rooting for the devil by the end of the novel, which is something you wouldn’t normally do! Who would you cast as the… Read more »

Meredith Christine
Guest

This sounds so good!!

xx,
Meredith
http://www.nobasisinreality.com

Ms Via
Guest

I love reading a good crime thriller. This book sounds interesting. Added to my reading list will check it soon. Loved reading your review. 🙂

Via | http://glossnglitters.com